TRUMAN is a Charlotte Zolotow Honor Book!

With the grand ALA award celebrations swiftly approaching (and yes, I’ll be rising early to tune into the live stream of excitement) other awards sometimes get overlooked. One of those is the Charlotte Zolotow Award – it is one of the only major awards given for picture book text. Here’s the description from the award website:

The Charlotte Zolotow Award is given annually to the author of the best picture book text published in the United States in the preceding year. Established in 1998, the award is named to honor the work of Charlotte Zolotow, a distinguished children’s book editor for 38 years with Harper Junior Books, and author of more than 70 picture books, including such classic works as Mr. Rabbit and the Lovely Present (Harper, 1962) and William’s Doll (Harper, 1972). Ms. Zolotow attended the University of Wisconsin in Madison on a writing scholarship from 1933-36 where she studied with Professor Helen C. White.

The award is administered by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center, a children’s literature library of the School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Each year a committee of children’s literature experts selects the winner from the books published in the preceding year. The winner is announced in January each year. A bronze medallion is formally presented to the winning author in the spring during an annual public event that honors the career of Charlotte Zolotow.

With all of that said, I’m overwhelmed with emotion and very, VERY honored, to have TRUMAN recognized as a Charlotte Zolotow Honor Book.

This makes my heart soar!

Thank you to the committee and to the fabulous team of Lucy Ruth Cummins, Emma Ledbetter, Alexa Pastor, Erin Murphy and all my friends at Atheneum/Simon & Schuster!

Congratulations to the gold medal winner!

And my fellow honorees!

And thank you to young readers everywhere!